New Zealand election: Labour and Māori parties gain MP each in final results | New Zealand

New Zealand Labour’s election win has received a further boost with the release of final results from the electoral commission giving Jacinda Ardern’s party one more seat, making it 65 in the 120-seat assembly.

Labour received 50.01% of the votes, the party’s best result since 1938.

“I have to say, receiving that news this afternoon I was incredibly humbled by that mandate,” Ardern said.

“It is extraordinary to have that level of support from New Zealanders. With that comes significant responsibility. It’s our job now to get on with the plan.”

It is the first time any party has received a majority of votes in 69 years.

The commission finished counting this week, adding on special votes accounting for 17% of the overall tally. Special voters come from a variety of places but are typically overseas or out-of-electorate voters.

Labour’s MPs will be supported by 10 Greens after their party signed a cooperation agreement with Labour giving their two co-leaders ministries outside of cabinet.

Jacinda Ardern, the governor general, Dame Patsy Reddy, and the new cabinet pose for an official photograph in Wellington.
Jacinda Ardern, the governor general, Dame Patsy Reddy, and the new cabinet pose for an official photograph in Wellington. Photograph: Getty Images

The opposition will consist of 33 National MPs, the fewest since the 2002 election. They started the 2017 term with 56 MPs, meaning they have lost 22 seats.

There are 10 ACT MPs and 2 from the Māori party.

The opposition has cycled through four leaders since Ardern became PM and ran a chaotic and unsuccessful campaign under Judith Collins.

An hour after the results were released, the deputy opposition leader and campaign chair Gerry Brownlee announced he would step down from his leadership role. “It’s time to think about the three years ahead. I want Judith to have the strongest and most complementary support beside her as leader,” he said.

National will meet on Tuesday and spill its leadership positions, though Collins is expected to retain her position.

The Māori party was the other big winner from the release of final results, gaining an extra MP from election night predictions of one, with Debbie Ngarewa-Packer joining Rawiri Waititi.

Ngarewa-Packer said she was “shocked but thrilled”.

“The Māori party succeeded against all odds and swam against the tide, our people have sent a message that they want strong Māori voices who will fight for transformative policies,” she said.

The Electoral Commission also confirmed results in two referendums conducted alongside the 2020 election. New Zealanders voted against legalising marijuana but to make euthanasia legal.

New Zealand’s MPs from 17 October election:

  • Labour 65 seats (up from 46 at 2017 election)

  • National 33 seats (down from 56)

  • Greens 10 (up from 8)

  • ACT 10 (up from 1)

  • Māori Party 2 (up from 0)

  • New Zealand First 0 (down from 9)

Source link

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Leave a Reply